AirTech CTF 2024 - ttcccppp

A network forensics CTF chall. writeup.


first

Let's get Cracking...

Challenge 02: tttcccppp

Was a tricky yet interesting challenge to solve.

In this challenge again a .pcap file was given in order to solve the challenge and a hint was given as well.

second


why would someone send data in the first part of the TCP handshake

A TCP handshake looks like this.

second

So, I used the TCP filter to filter out the TCP traffic.

second

After that when I examined every SYN packet they had an alphabet in them.

second

second

second

second

As you can see they are forming the first four alphabets of the flag i.e. AT24 So I carried on with the search and finally, I got the whole flag.

Flag: AT24{TTTCCCPPP_15_R3liable}

Stay in the loop with my latest content – follow me on Medium for more!

THANKS

MUHAMMAD ABDULLAH